L'Arte della Scordatura

Detuned in Arcadia

When watching externally hosted videos, third parties (YouTube, Idagio, Vimeo) will have access to some of your transmitted data.
Please have a look at our privacy policy for additional details.

Mayumi Hirasaki

Lorenzo Ghielmi

Michael Freimuth

Burkhard Scheibe
Video & Audio

The internationally celebrated violinist Mayumi Hirasaki presents the art of scordatura in her program. This refers to a change in the tuning of a stringed instrument that deviates from the norm. Sometimes even different movements or sections in a work are tuned differently. The reasons for scordatura are manifold and range from ease in playing to greater timbral versatility and the extension of the tonal range. The concept dates back to the 16th century, but continues into the 20th century.

In her concert, Mayumi Hirasaki presents well-known and lesser known scordatura works of the Baroque – the golden age of “detuning” – by Giuseppe Tartini, Pietro Castrucci and Carlo Ambrogio Lonati. Their works are combined with music by George Frideric Handel and Arcangelo Corelli revolving around the famous Accademia dell’Arcadia, established in Rome in 1690.


Arcangelo Corelli: Sonate Nr. 1 D-Dur aus 12 Sonaten für Violine und Violone oder Cembalo
Carlo Ambrogio Lonati: Sonate Nr. 7 g-moll from Sonaten für Violine und Basso continuo
Georg Friedrich Händel: Allemande del Sig. Hendel für Cembalo solo
Georg Friedrich Händel: Sonate g-Moll (HWV 368) für Violine und Basso continuo


Georg Friedrich Händel: Sonate A-Dur (HWV 361) für Violine und Basso continuo
Georg Friedrich Händel: Sonate a-Moll (HWV 374) für Querflöte und Basso continuo, Arrangement for solo theorbo
Pietro Castrucci : Sonate Nr. 12 a-Moll from Sonaten für Violine und Violone oder Cembalo
Giuseppe Tartini : Pastorale op. 1 A-Dur from XII Solos für Violine und Generalbass

With kind support from